Kennesaw Student Commuter

Rising Gas Prices

Posted on: October 27, 2009

KangarooHave you noticed the recent spike in gas prices? I remember just a week or so ago gas at my local Kangaroo station was about $2.20 and today it’s up to $2.49. I’m a gas-cynic so I tried to think of which upcoming travel holiday was responsible. Nothing came to mind and Columbus Day, while a federal holiday, just doesn’t bring road trips and getaways to mind. What gives?

Apparently I’m not the only one who noticed; the Associated Press had a story about it this morning. According to the article, the rise in prices has to do with a weak dollar and a decrease in production.

I guess the only silver lining is that the rise in prices held off until we don’t need to use our cars’ air conditioning much.

Leave a Reply

  • None
  • Lindsey: It could work... but like Tristan said, online or not, people will still be late or not show up, etc. But then again, I've done "half-breed" classes
  • Michael W. Ollinger: Using Second Life as a meeting tool is taking that particular technology a bit too far; it reminds me of that episode of the Office where the Stamford
  • Britney: I think new online media is very beneficial, especially in a university setting. Offering more online classes means less traffic, more room on campus

Categories

